List of all 36 states in Nigeria and their capitals

The states and capital recitation is basic for every Nigerian. All 36 states in Nigeria and their capitals are no doubt easy to memorize. Unconsciously, it is a measuring tool for brilliance even in today’s Nigeria.

Some learnt the ‘states and capitals’ at a time when they were lesser than 36, which is often times why they experience difficulties in adding ‘the rest’ to the ones they grew up with.

As funny as it might sound, not knowing the states and capitals offhand might be costly. I have seen job interview questions asking applicants to provide the capital of a capital! For some, it might successfully confuse them being the intent of their potential employers.

To avoid being caught in an embarrassing situation, we have compiled a list of all 36 states and their capitals and we hope that you take to learning them.

List of all 36 states in Nigeria and their capitals

State Capital
Abia Umuahia
Adamawa Yola
Akwa Ibom Uyo
Anambra Awka
Bauchi Bauchi
Bayelsa Yenagoa
Benue Makurdi
Borno Maiduguri
Cross River Calabar
Delta Asaba
Ebonyi Abakaliki
Edo Benin City
Ekiti State Ado-Ekiti
Enugu Enugu
Federal Capital Territory Abuja
Gombe Gombe
Imo Owerri
Jigawa Dutse
Kaduna Kaduna
Kano Kano
Katsina Katsina
Kebbi Birnin Kebbi
Kogi Lokoja
Kwara Ilorin
Lagos Ikeja
Nasarawa Lafia
Niger Minna
Ogun Abeokuta
Ondo Akure
Osun Oshogbo
Oyo Ibadan
Plateau Jos
Rivers Port Harcourt
Sokoto Sokoto
Taraba Jalingo
Yobe Damaturu
Zamfara Gusau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NaijaBangs © 2018